Jun Quimpo recorded the songs collected here in the late ’70s.

Some are his original compositions:

Alay sa Ina
Lupang Malaon nang Aming Nasilayan
Pagkat ang Bukas ay sa Masa Lamang
Kahapon May Musmos Kang Pangarap

Compositions by others and sang by Jun:

Alphabet for the Enlightened
Uncle Sam Aint our Mama No More
Bayan Ko, Gumising Ka
Bayan Ko

These were voiced-taped in informal settings and not at all in a professional studio.
After his death in 1981, there were two productions: First, a tribute made in the CPP-NDF underground.
The songs were combined with a narrative of Jun”s life and was diffused as propaganda material.
The second was a compilation of songs made by “Friends of the Filipino People (FFP)” in the US.
The different audio cassette tapes were gathered in 1982 and consolidated into a master tape, then reproduced into cassettes.
Copies of the two cassette productions were preserved from 1982 to 2007.
The recordings were then transferred digitally to a PC Linux machine using the software Audacity, versions 1.2.6 and 1.3.3.
In March 2012, individual songs were extracted from the recordings using Audacity 1.3.14.
Noise removal, compression and normalisation of Audacity were applied to the songs. Thereafter each song was exported to the format of MP3.
March 24, 2012 by Ryan Quimpo

Download the entire album HERE